AMD Radeon VII Product

After falling behind the high performance GPU gaming for quite some time and AMD has finally caught up with the game, hopefully. Announced just a while ago, is the Radeon VII (pronounced as Radeon Seven). The Radeon VII is AMD’s latest flagship GPU that is based on the 7nm Vega architecture, which AMD claims to have the performance that can go on par with the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080.

A live demo gameplay of one of the upcoming AAA title Devil May Cry 5 was shown during the announcement, using the highest settings and running on 4K resolution. The result was really impressive indeed, with the game running smoothly at the range of 70~110FPS.

AMD didn’t reveal much of the information at the moment, but here’s a comparison between the Radeon VII and the previous Radeon RX Vega 64 for your reference:

AMD Radeon VII AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Architecture (GPU) TBA Graphics Core Next 5.0 (Vega 10)
Shaders 3840 4096
Peak FP32 Compute TBA 12.5 TFLOPS
Texture Units TBA 256
Base Clock Rate TBA 1200 MHz
GPU Boost Rate 1800 MHz 1536 MHz
Memory Capacity 16GB HBM2 8GB HBM2
Memory Clock TBA 1890 Mbps
Memory Bus 4096-bit 2048-bit
Memory Bandwidth 1 TB/s 483.8 GB/s
Transistor Count TBA 12.5 billion
Die Size TBA 487 mm²

From the limited information we have as of now, we can see that AMD is moving closer towards 2000MHz on the GPU boost clock, which is good. It’s just the matter of time before they caught up with NVIDIA, if they’re able to keep the momentum going.

That aside, the Radeon VII also sports a 16GB HBM2 memory and memory bus of 4096-bit, which gives you a whopping 1TB/s memory bandwidth that is twice the amount of what the Radeon RX Vega 64 capable of.

AMD Radeon VII Availability

The Radeon VII will be available from February 7 onwards, nationwide. AMD will be bundling the Radeon VII with 3 of the upcoming AAA titles, Devil May Cry 5, Resident Evil 2 and Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 at the price of $699.

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tech-Critter and receive notifications of new posts by email.